The following databases are provided by Chicago Public Schools for all students, teachers and administrators in the district. These databases which can be used both at school and at home are accessed with a special password login. Click here to access the eBook and database password document using your CPS credentials. (en Español). Charter Schools - Request a copy.
Capstone Interactive is a virtual library of engaging, interactive eBooks with natural read-aloud audio and text highlighting that students can access at school and at home.
PebbleGo is a curriculum-connected research database specifically designed for K-3 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities, it boosts engagement and fosters learning. Educator resources
With expertly translated versions of PebbleGo articles that include authentic Spanish read-aloud audio recorded by professional voice-over artists, students can easily switch between English and Spanish versions with a click of a button.
The PebbleGo Next family of databases helps students in Grades 3-5 learn about key concepts related to Social Studies, Biographies, Science, States, and American Indians.
One-stop digital resources for the PK-12 books you are reading and teaching — Meet-the-Author interviews, lesson plans, audiobook performances, book trailers, and other enrichment content that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.
A fully integrated database for high school containing thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, essays, critical analyses, full-text coverage of over 1,000 magazines, newspapers, photographs, illustrations, and audio.Teacher resource: Using Gale databases
Access continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites for middle school organized in a user friendly website.
For K-5 students. Features a visually graphic interface, a topic tree search and age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content.
is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Online Encyclopedia for K-12 — offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, Web sites, and three separate databases.
Spanish Reference for Grades K-8 with accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Britannica Escolar’s new features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, and bilingual students.
Spanish Reference for High School students and Adults with more than 47,000 articles and 8,000 images, dictionary and atlas, a valuable resource for for native Spanish speakers and bilingual students.
Image Resource for PreK-12: Fast, safe, and easy to use, Britannica ImageQuest brings lessons, assignments, and projects to life with over three million rights-cleared images!
From within CPS schools, students & staff receive access to deeply investigated, fact-based journalism, as well as access to educational resources through The New York Times Learning Network.
Professional and educational magazine and journal articles. Includes ERIC , WorldCat , Article-First , and others.
Newsela is an instructional content platform that sources authentic, real-world content from trusted publishers and makes it ready for classroom use. Content is available at 5 different reading levels, aligned to standards, and accompanied by instructional resources to support the core academic disciplines of English Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, and SEL.Use your school username and password to connect.
Instantly access 35,000 simultaneous-view ebooks and learning videos. Set up your class to track reading and access quizzes and other features. All of your students can read the same book at the same time!
Provides subscriber access to over 30 databases for children and adults, including JuniorQuest Magazines; ProQuest Newspapers; SIRS Discoverer; Spanish-language databases; and WorldBook.
Chicago Collections' free, centralized, web-based search engine and record-finding tool on Chicago's history and culture. Users are able to locate or access over 100,000 maps, photos, and letters held at member institutions throughout the Chicago area.
The PBS Learning Media site will help you navigate your students through the various resources developed by PBS & WGBH Educational Foundation. Teachers can create their own learning pathways, complete with quizzes and storyboards.
Free online resource for American history. Digital collection includes more than 8 million primary source materials, including historic maps, documents, audio and video.