Javascript is not enabled in your browser.

Digital Resources

The following databases are provided by Chicago Public Schools for all students, teachers and administrators in the district. These databases which can be used both at school and at home are accessed with a special password login. Click here to access the eBook and database password document using your CPS credentials. (en Español). Charter Schools - Request a copy.

Capstone Interactive

Capstone Interactive

Capstone Interactive is a virtual library of engaging, interactive eBooks with natural read-aloud audio and text highlighting that students can access at school and at home.

PebbleGo

PebbleGo

PebbleGo is a curriculum-connected research database specifically designed for K-3 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities, it boosts engagement and fosters learning.
Educator resources

PebbleGo Spanish

PebbleGo Spanish

With expertly translated versions of PebbleGo articles that include authentic Spanish read-aloud audio recorded by professional voice-over artists, students can easily switch between English and Spanish versions with a click of a button.

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks

One-stop digital resources for the PK-12 books you are reading and teaching — Meet-the-Author interviews, lesson plans, audiobook performances, book trailers, and other enrichment content that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.

Gale In Context: High School

Gale In Context: High School

A fully integrated database for high school containing thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, essays, critical analyses, full-text coverage of over 1,000 magazines, newspapers, photographs, illustrations, and audio.
Teacher resource: Using Gale databases

Gale In Context: Middle School

Gale In Context: Middle School

Access continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites for middle school organized in a user friendly website.

Gale In Context: Elementary (Kids InfoBits)

Gale In Context: Elementary (Kids InfoBits)

For K-5 students. Features a visually graphic interface, a topic tree search and age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content.

Gale In Context: U.S. History

Gale In Context: U.S. History

is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

Gale In Context: World History

Gale In Context: World History

is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Britannica

Britannica

Online Encylclopedia for K-12 — offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, Web sites, and three separate databases.

Escolar

Escolar

Spanish Reference for Grades K-8 with accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Britannica Escolar’s new features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, and bilingual students.

Moderna

Moderna

Spanish Reference for High School students and Adults with more than 47,000 articles and 8,000 images, dictionary and atlas, a valuable resource for for native Spanish speakers and bilingual students.

ImageQuest

ImageQuest

Image Resource for PreK-12: Fast, safe, and easy to use, Britannica ImageQuest brings lessons, assignments, and projects to life with over three million rights-cleared images!

Britannica LaunchPacks: Science

Britannica LaunchPacks: Science

Digital Science Content Sets for K-12: Personalize instruction in Science for every student and meet content-area literacy standards with time saving, curriculum aligned digital content sets.

Britannica LaunchPacks: Social Studies

Britannica LaunchPacks: Social Studies

Digital Social Studies Content Sets for K-12: Personalize instruction in Social Studies for every student and meet content-area literacy standards with time saving, curriculum aligned digital content sets.

New York Times

New York Times

From within CPS schools, students & staff receive access to deeply investigated, fact-based journalism, as well as access to educational resources through The New York Times Learning Network.

First Search

First Search

Professional and educational magazine and journal articles. Includes ERIC , WorldCat , Article-First , and others.

Lightbox

Lightbox

Username = guest Password = follett
Available until 8/31/2020
Lightbox is a true multimedia learning experience that incorporates audio, video, interactive activities, and much more across a variety of professionally developed curriculum.
Provided by Follett and AV2

Abdo Zoom Animales

Abdo Zoom Animales

Disponible hasta el 30/09/2020
Explora el mundo de los animales para los jóvenes estudiantes a través de juegos, videos, pestañas fáciles de navegar, actividades y datos divertidos.
Proporcionado por Mackin y Abdo

Abdo Zoom Animals

Abdo Zoom Animals

Available until 9/30/2020
Explores the world of animals for young learners through games, videos, easy-to-navigate tabs, activities, and fun facts.
Provided by Mackin and Abdo

Abdo Zoom Biographies

Abdo Zoom Biographies

Available until 9/30/2020
Provides access for students in PreK to second grade to over 150 biographies of important figures from the past and the present, including athletes, inventors, musicians, and explorers.
Provided by Mackin and Abdo

Abdo Zoom STEAM

Abdo Zoom STEAM

Available until 9/30/2020
Provides access to read-along audio, downloadable art projects, activities, and statistics to help students researching a variety of STEAM topics.
Provided by Mackin and Abdo

JoVE

JoVE

Available until 8/31/2020
In response to the quick-pivot to remote learning due to COVID-19, JoVE is offering complimentary access to all its educational video content through August for all Chicago Public Schools.
Provided by JoVE

Epic! Books

Epic! Books

Instantly access 35,000 simultaneous-view ebooks and learning videos. Set up your class to track reading and access quizzes and other features. All of your students can read the same book at the same time!

Encyclopedia of Chicago

Free, comprehensive reference source of Chicago history.

CPL

CPL

Provides subscriber access to over 30 databases for children and adults, including JuniorQuest Magazines; ProQuest Newspapers; SIRS Discoverer; Spanish-language databases; and WorldBook.

The History Makers

Free online source for African American biographies, history, timelines, events.

Chicago Collections Consortium

Chicago Collections Consortium

Chicago Collections' free, centralized, web-based search engine and record-finding tool on Chicago's history and culture. Users are able to locate or access over 100,000 maps, photos, and letters held at member institutions throughout the Chicago area.

Safari Montage

Safari Montage

View curriculum and standards-focused educational videos from leading publishers.

PBS Learning Media

PBS Learning Media

The PBS Learning Media site will help you navigate your students through the various resources developed by PBS & WGBH Educational Foundation. Teachers can create their own learning pathways, complete with quizzes and storyboards.

Library of Congress

Library of Congress

Free online resource for American history. Digital collection includes more than 8 million primary source materials, including historic maps, documents, audio and video.

eCUIP Digital Library

Reference and reading materials specially created in support of the CPS curriculum for teachers and students.

Scroll To Top